Birds on the river

A beautiful day with clear views of the snow-dusted hills.

image

I took the new binoculars for a walk. They are bigger than the other ones, so I felt a bit like Jack Hawkins on the bridge of HMS Dufflecoat. They are good, but not quite good enough for me to confirm that I saw a couple of whooper swans. They certainly had very upright necks but I couldn’t check the colour of their bills before they flew off.

The usual crowd: egrets, redshanks, oystercatchers, lapwings, shelducks, Canada geese, cormorants, probably greylag geese (on the other side of the river – again, the new binoculars aren’t that good). I heard curlews, and there were starlings and chaffinches in the hedgerows. I saw a pair of goldeneyes on the river too:

image.jpeg

It was also a good day for reflections:

image

This entry was posted in Birds. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment