Scottish National Gallery

IMG_1270

Edinburgh Castle

IMG_0671IMG_0670Another enjoyable morning amongst paintings (and masses of tourists). I started with E A Wilson again (A Daydream, oil on canvas, 1885), and then came across the (to me) bizarre St Bride by John Duncan (1913, tempura on canvas, which gave the painting a sherbetty glow), part of the Celtic revival movement. Of other paintings I retain only a hazy impression – Van Goghs and Cézannes and Gaugins, although the John Singer Sargent made an impression on me.

IMG_1276.JPG

IMG_1282I also enjoyed peering at the brushwork of various artists. I compared the loose strokes of Frans Hals to Gerard ter Borch: one was smooth, shimmering silk and the other was freestyle lace. Looking at a late 15th century Flemish Madonna, I recalled learning in Antwerp that painting on wooden panel allows for greater detail than canvas. The perspective of that painting recalled some of the British painting I’d seen yesterday.

This entry was posted in Art, Other places and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

