The garden today

DSC_0467Since returning home, I have spent 2 days picking and freezing currants and berries, mowing the lawn and tending the vegetable beds. There hasn’t been the explosion of growth I had expected: I swear the broccoli plants are no bigger than they were 3 weeks ago. The salad crop is a failure, so I sowed more seeds today. (It looks as if the weather has been unsettled and very windy.)

One thing I did notice was the clematis in the elder tree. This is is the same clematis which suffered from wilt each summer when it was in a pot at the front of the house.

Much as I dislike the grey squirrels in the garden for the damage they do, I was saddened to see one beside the raspberries this afternoon. At first I chased him off, but then I noticed his swollen face and his slow movements. I think he was suffering from an ever-growing tooth, which sounds like an unpleasant way to die, even for a pest.

This entry was posted in Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

