Strausberg to Bad Freienwalde

IMG_0887

Storks on top of an old brick kiln outside the Stork Museum in Rathsdorf

That warm air yesterday held a lot of moisture – most of which fell heavily and steadily on us this morning. It’s a long time since I’ve been quite that sodden. The cloud was so low that I could only see two out of three wind turbine blades. Unlike the wet rides that have passed into personal mythology – Westport, Achnasheen, Kleve – this was reasonably warm rain. Fortunately the roads were quiet and well surfaced, and the rain eventually stopped before Bad Freienwalde and allowed me a chance to dry out. It did make me feel rather sorry in Rathsdorf for storks too young to fly, stuck in their unsheltered nests and unable to find a better ‘ole to go to.

IMG_0879I’m not sure what I passed by this morning: I was too busy making sure I could see out of my glasses and that I stayed upright in the stair-rod rain. When it lessened, I found I was looking at the modern church in Kunersdorf – notable for being built in the 1950s after its war-damaged predecessor was pulled down. Kunersdorf also seems to have been important in the Cold War and the Seven Years’ War.

Kaffeepause in Wriezen, which was another town with a more visible past than future. It was once linked to the River Oder, and by the former harbour I took a photograph of old Kalköfen (lime kilns).

IMG_0881

Bad Freienwalde is mildly interesting. It is in a wooded valley (I really wasn’t expecting hills!) and in its heyday seems to have marketed itself with the aid of its mud baths.

This entry was posted in Cycling, Germany and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

