Barrow to Grange

DSC_0393

Morecambe Bay from Grange-over-Sands

IMG_0849

Rampside lighthouse

I got off the train in Barrow-in-Furness and 15 minutes later was eating a second breakfast. I followed the Morecambe Bay Cycle Way and cycled between a gas terminal (with miniature flares) on one side and oystercatcher-friendly mudflats on the other. The route hugs the bay as much as possible, so I discovered the Roa Island causeway, Rampside lighthouse and Rampside Hall (which is in a very odd position for a Grade I listed building – on the edge of a 1980s housing estate), the ruins of Gleaston castle, and Ulverston (prettier than I imagined, but it could do with some pedestrianisation). It was an overcast, muggy day and the views were somewhat subdued.

The route is strenuous in places: once you leave the coast you are in the deep folds of the English countryside which make cycling such a joy trial distinctive experience.

DSC_0390

Near Bigland Tarn

I have been to Grange-over-Sands a few times before so I had to visit the derelict lido where I had my coldest ever swim many years ago. Arnside tomorrow – and, for the first time, not via the railway.

Well, not unless it’s raining.

This entry was posted in Cycling, Other places. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

