Cologne

Rosenmontag was yesterday; so, although there are still a few young men around in yogi bear suits (didn’t they bring a change of clothes?) and women with bright cloaks and pointed hats, I’ve missed all the fun. Cologne today just looks like a town with a hangover: it’s grey and drizzly and the drinks litter beneath the temporary seating outside the cathedral is a sight to behold.

This time I went inside the Roman Catholic cathedral; I’ve never been particularly inclined to before, since the outside is so grimy and its position next to the Hauptbahnhof steals some of its gravitas. However, in I went, and, yes, it’s big and very high . . . Having no religious feeling, I come to sacred sites with only an aesthetic and historical sense. I am still full of admiration for Wells cathedral from a fortnight ago, so I wasn’t as impressed with Cologne cathedral as I feel I should be.

I was almost interviewed by a television crew in the street, but my halting German saved me (and a teatime audience).

Never mind: I had some Baumkuchen (and now understand what it is and how it is made) and, separately, some Kölsch, so all disappointments are forgotten.

This entry was posted in Germany. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

