Wynford Dewhurst: Manchester’s Monet

I ended my day in Manchester yesterday with a visit to the exhibition of paintings by Wynford Dewhurst (1864-1941) at the art gallery. Dewhurst insisted that Impressionism was rooted in British landscapes, citing Constable and Turner as influences. Perhaps . . . but the big influence on Dewhurst was Claude Monet, which was obvious from the paintings. They were very pleasing to the eye and captured wonderfully the plein air aspect of Impressionism. My favourite (possibly reflecting my reaction to a murky day) was a very ordinary garden on a sunny day:

img_9519

A corner of the garden, 1905, oil on canvas

Another purely personal pleasure was the painting of Stockgrove Park, a regular Sunday-afternoon-drive destination in my youth – although I can’t recall that I appreciated it then as much as I would now:

img_9520

Evening Shadows, 1899, oil on canvas

There were also some sketches, which I enjoyed studying if only to imagine Dewhurst’s nib cross-hatching and stippling across the paper. My favourite was of poplars by the Seine:

img_9525

This entry was posted in Art, Exhibitions, Manchester and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wynford Dewhurst: Manchester’s Monet

  1. agogo22 says:

    Reblogged this on msamba.

    Like

Leave a Reply

