Back home

Home again, despite an unscheduled night in Brussels when Eurostar trains were cancelled. (I realise how lucky I am that that is no worse than an inconvenience to me.) After being away for a month, it’s good to reacquaint myself with my home turf. Here it’s 12 degrees colder than Greece and a great deal less sunny, but when the sun does shine there is plenty of colour in the autumn leaves and berries.

I went for a walk beside the river: the usual geese, little egrets and lapwings were out in force. I also saw a warbler-like bird clinging to a stalk, but it disobligingly flew off before I could get a good look. I really must try to learn the difference between the calls of redshanks, lapwings and oyster-catchers.

This entry was posted in Birds. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

