Heading south

img_8514

I’m currently down at sea level

The bus did the heavy lifting to get me further along the coast, and the Brompton broke the finishing tape by freewheeling downhill from the top. The Brompton and I plus minimal luggage are heading back uphill in a couple of days’ time, and I imagine I’ll be doing most of the work.

There are still lots of tourists and ageing ex-pats here, and – luckily for me – no shortage of comfortable hotels, but things become a little less polished the further down the coast you go. Settlements are sparser, less knowingly picturesque, and seem more hostage to the elements. (The elements certainly dashed my hopes of a swim when I arrived.)

img_8515

I had quite forgotten how mellow one feels after two ouzos.

This entry was posted in Cycling, Greece and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

