Birds and cats

The garden is full of fledglings at the moment, and last week I disturbed a tabby that had grabbed a small bird. Fortunately the bird escaped once the cat’s attention was diverted; I don’t know if it survived. Hence on Tuesday at Leighton Moss I bought a cat scarer – a battery-operated sensor that emits a high-pitched sound which is supposed to send cats scarpering. (I have checked that it is sited high enough not to be triggered by the hedgehogs.) I have no idea if it works or not: Lawrence’s cat crept in on Wednesday but I don’t know if it had triggered the detector before it spotted me – the alternative cat scarer – and fled as fast as its portly frame would allow.

image

The crime scene

There were a lot of white feathers on the lawn this morning, so I assumed that the scarer had failed and the killer tabby had struck again. However, what I saw later while hanging out the washing suggests a different story. A pigeon ignored my presence and was hoovering up around the base of the bird feeder. Out of the corner of my eye I saw a tussle start with a second bird. I instantly thought it was another pigeon, and, not wanting to be a witness to a fight or a leg-over situation, I shooed them off and they separated. It was only then that I saw that the second bird was a sparrowhawk and that he had already ripped out a few of the pigeon’s feathers.

So that probably solves the mystery of this morning’s feathers. I am not inclined to come between a sparrowhawk and its lunch, but on balance I would prefer not to have a bloodbath under my nose.

Still no indication that the cat scarer is working, though. Apart from the absence of cats, that is.

This entry was posted in Birds, Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

