The garden today

image

Only a few weeks ago I was rhapsodising at signs of life returning to the garden . . . and now I am cutting back hard as that life gets out of hand! Cranesbills are sheared to make way for their later-flowering cousins, and the bright ox eye daisies in the long grass have turned into horticultural bullies that I cut down to give other plants a chance:

image

Off on holiday again on Tuesday, so the big question is: will the blackbirds, magpies and squirrels leave any ripe gooseberries or redcurrants for me?

image

It will be interesting to see how much the raspberries and blackberries ripen during my absence:

imageimage

The dead laburnum can stay for a bit – it’s a useful launch pad for the tits bound for the feeders – but I have planted a white clematis beside it. I’ll see how it goes.

image

This entry was posted in Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

