The garden today

image

The saxifrage and brunnera are flowering, the first buds of the wild garlic are just beginning to show, the forget-me-nots are blue, there is more than one primrose in bloom, the astrantia is showing signs of returning to life . . . what a joy contemplating it all is.

There is hedgehog poo on the lawn (a good thing – hopefully I will see the hedgehog ambling past the window one evening soon), and blue tits are flitting around the bird box among the conifers. I pulled up the broccoli plants, added some 2014 leaf mould, rotted compost and organic fertiliser and planted the last of the potatoes. I’m now off to mow the lawn so that I can mulch the vegetable bed with the clippings.

Destruction is also in the air, however. The nematodes arrived today by post and are lurking in the fridge (bye bye, slugs), and sycamore seedlings and ground elder should prepare to meet their doom (me).

My garden, my rules!

image

About aides memoires

This is a chronological list of things I have seen, places I have visited, and thoughts that have wandered through the space between my ears. A reading group of one; an art appreciation society limited by my preferences and prejudices; opera criticism by one who knows nothing about the subject.
This entry was posted in Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment